GNH Lumber February 2024

Write-in wins village seat in Philmont



GHENT— Village elections were held last Tuesday, September 15 after a six-month delay.

In the Village of Philmont, a write-in candidate, Debra Gitterman, won a trustee seat with 50 votes. Incumbent Trustee Brian Johnson was reelected with 55 votes. The other incumbent on the ballot, Barbara Sagal, received 37 votes and write-in candidate Mike Wheeler received 39 votes.

According to the village office, 122 ballots were cast and there were 6 absentee ballots.

In the Village of Kinderhook election, 246 villagers voted in-person at the Village Hall on Chatham Street (Route 9). Dale R. Leiser ran unopposed for mayor and was elected by 236 votes. Michael Abrams (162 votes) and Dorene Weir (142 votes) were elected to the two open trustee seats.

Mr. Leiser was serving as trustee and had six months left on his term when he was elected mayor. The board plans to appoint James Mark Browne (119 votes) to Mr. Leiser’s open board seat at the next Village Board meeting. Incumbant Trustee Robert Baumeister received 89 votes. Current Village Judge David Dellehunt, running unopposed, received 216 votes.

According to the Kinderhook Village Clerk Nicole Heeder, absentee ballots cast for the original election date of March 18 were held and cast at this rescheduled election. She said there were 37 absentee ballots.

The governor moved village elections a few times due to the pandemic, finally setting in-person elections on September 15. In his executive order about elections, Governor Cuomo said, “Village officials elected at a rescheduled election held on September 15, shall assume office as soon as the statement of canvass is filed with the village clerk pursuant to section 15-126 of the Election Law or certified by the board of election, and the term of office of such officers shall end as if they had been elected at the time of the originally scheduled election.” Village trustee terms are for 2 years.

In Valatie, a total of 19 ballots were cast and incumbents trustees Angelo Nero (19 votes) and David Williams (18 votes) were reelected.

In Chatham, the only village that uses the county Board of Elections to run the village elections, incumbent Melony Spock (44 votes) and newcomer Jodie Russell (45 votes) were elected.

To contact reporter Emilia Teasdale email

Related Posts