Long Energy Where "Service" Counts

Sheriff Bartlett wins 2nd term, Coleman tapped for coroner


GHENT–Unofficial results from Tuesday’s local elections show incumbent Columbia County Sheriff David Bartlett (R) easily won a second four-year term running against Chatham Police Chief Peter Volkmann (D).

In the other countywide race this year, Dr. Andrea “Cricket” Coleman won by over 2,000 votes in her race against former Germantown Supervisor Roy Brown (R) for a vacant position as one of three county coroners.

All vote counts are unofficial and are from the machine vote tallies on November 7. They do not include absentee ballots or write-in candidates.

In other races, incumbent Claverack Supervisor Kippy Weigelt, a Republican, defeated his Democratic opponent Laura Miller by 1,097 votes to 655.

It appears there will be a change of leadership in the Town of Greenport, where Democratic challenger Kathy Leck Eldridge received 588 votes Election Day against incumbent Edward F Nabozny, a member of the Independence Party also running on the Republican line. He received 547 votes.

Among the winners in Hudson was community activist and former mayoral candidate Linda Mussmann, running on the Democratic line for the seat on the county Board of Supervisors from the 4th Ward. She soundly defeated William Hughes Jr., also a Democrat and the current minority leader of the board, by a vote of 201 to 88.

In Stuyvesant, incumbent Republican Supervisor Ron Knott easily won reelection in his race against Democratic candidate Edward “Ned” Depew.

Separate ballot propositions for public Library funding increases passed with strong support from voters in the City of Hudson and in Claverack. The Hudson Area Library also sought more support from Greenport, but voters there rejected the request by less than 20 votes, in a 51%-to-49% split.

County voters turned thumbs down on the proposal for a state constitutional convention, rejecting it with 15,145 No votes to a mere 2,458. Statewide, the measure was rejected by an equally resounding margin. Two other statewide ballot propositions did meet with voter approval here and in the state too, one on allowing judges to revoke the state pensions of officials convicted of certain felonies, and the other to allow land swaps in the forever wild state forest for certain public projects.

In the contest for state Supreme Court Justice for the multi-county 3rd Judicial District, Ulster County attorney Julian Schreibman won by a slim margin in the county over Peter G. Crummy. At press deadline the district-wide outcome of that race was not determined.

Columbia County 2017 Election Results

(Unofficial results for contested races only)

3rd Judicial District

Supreme Court Justice

(vote tally for Columbia County only)

DEM, WOR/ Julian D Schreibman 8,488

REP, CON, IND, REF/ Peter G Crummey 8,413

County Sheriff

DEM, WOR, WEP/ Peter Volkmann 7,761

REP, CON, IND, REF/ David P Bartlett 10,279


DEM, WOR, WEP/ Andrea “Cricket” Coleman 9,511

REP, CON, IND/ Roy Brown 7,784



Proposal Four

Library funding

Yes 1,009

No 417

Ward 2 Supervisor

DEM, REP, CON, IND/ Abdus Miah 148

WOR/ Willette M Jones 43

Ward 2 Alderman (Vote for 2)

DEM, WOR/ Tiffany M Garriga 168

DEM, IND/ Dewan A Sarowar 144

REP, CON/ Martin Martinez 51

WOR/ Victor Mendolia 102

Ward 4 Supervisor

DEM, WOR, IND, Bottom Line/ Linda Mussmann 201

REP, CON/ William Hughes Jr 88

Ward 4 Alderman (Vote for 2)

DEM/ Rich “Trixie” Volo 197

DEM/ John Rosenthal 196

REP, CON/ Lauren Scalera 107

Ward 5 Alderman (Vote for 2)

DEM, REP, CON/ Dominic Merante 247

DEM/ Eileen Halloran 200

REP, CON/ Robert J Donahue Sr 156


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM/ Bonnie Hundt 195

DEM/ Madeleine Israel 196

REP/ Marie A McDermott 172

REP, CON/ William J Broe 162

CON/ Daniel C Rothvoss 37


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, WOR/ Greg Vogler 355

DEM/ Christopher Schober 414

REP/ Jack Howes 233

Highway Supt.

DEM/ Robert A Meehan Jr 337

REP, CON/ Robin Howes 262


(no contested races)


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, Chatham Citizens/ John Wapner 754

DEM, Chatham Citizens/ Kevin Weldon 744

REP, CON, IND/ Michael R Blasl 649

REP, CON, IND/ Henry Swartz Jr 662


Proposal Four

Library funding

Yes 1,014

No 683


DEM, Claverack Party/ Laura Miller 655

REP, CON, IND/ Kippy Weigelt 1,097

Clerk/Tax Collector

DEM, Claverack Party/ Joanna Tipple

REP, CON, IND/ Mary J Hoose

Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, Claverack Party/ Dave Baylen 636

DEM, Claverack Party/ Stephen King 625

REP, CON, IND/ Stephen “Hookie” Hook 1,061

REP, CON, IND/ Brian Keeler 1,123


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, Clermont First/ Sara Takacs 200

DEM, REP, CON, IND/ Robert G Desmond 389

REP, CON, IND/ Kris Gildersleeve 270


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, WOR/ Jeanne E Mettler 547

DEM/ Richard T Wolf 434

REP, CON/ Andrew Fisher 335

REP, CON, IND/ Terry Sullivan 506


DEM/ Jeffrey Judd 334

REP, CON, IND/ Glenn Schermerhorn 620


(no contested races)


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM/ Tony Albino 318

DEM/ Don Westmore 323

REP, CON, IND/ Austin Sullivan 422

REP, CON, IND/ John Kukon 391


(no contested races)


Proposal Four

Library funding

Yes 549

No 568


DEM, WOR, IND/ Kathy Leck Eldridge 588

REP, CON, REF/ Edward F Nabozny 547

Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, WOR, IND/ Janice M Brodowski 931

DEM, WOR, IND/ Carol Peckham 694

REP/ Anthony J Rocha Sr 450

REP, CON/ Clayton Clark Jr 838


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM/ Thomas P Carty 348

DEM/ Gillian Sims-Elster 313

REP/ Carmen Barbato 263


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, Good For Kinderhook/ Jake Samascott 1,504

DEM, Good For Kinderhook/ Bernadette Powis 1,189

REP, CON, IND, REF/ Patsy Leader 1,593

REP, CON, IND, REF/ Sally Hogan 1,549


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM/ Lewis Dimm 407

DEM/Natalie Sosnowski 371

REP/ Philip J Massaro 478

REP/ Thomas J Shumsky 538


DEM/ Stanley O Yarian 426

REP/ Angela Marie Guzzi 466

New Lebanon

(no contested races)


(no contested races)



DEM, WOR/ Edward “Ned” Depew 248

REP, CON, IND/ Ron Knott 414

Clerk/Tax Collector

DEM, WOR/ Leigh Widjeskog 244

REP, CON, IND/ Melissa A Naegeli 423

Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, WOR/ William Schneider 299

DEM, WOR/ Lee Jamison 267

REP/ Robert T Baumeister 304

REP, CON, IND/ Brian Chittenden 368

Justice (Vote for 2)

DEM/ Melanie Donahoe 243

DEM/ Nancy P Thomas 228

REP, IND/ William T Vick Sr 367

REP, CON, IND/ Carrie A O’Hare 412


Council (Vote for 2)

DEM, WOR/ Joyce Thompson 242

DEM, WOR/ Linda Swartz 335

REP, CON, IND/ Royce G Noblin Jr 183

Highway Supt.

DEM, REP/ George Hotaling 281

CON, IND/ Melvin W Stoddard Jr 127

Statewide Ballot Proposals

(vote tallies for Columbia County only)

Proposal Number One

Constitutional Convention

Yes 2,458

No 15,145

Proposition Number 2

Allowing the complete or partial forfeiture of a public officer’s pension if he or she is convicted of a certain type of felony

Yes 14,549

No 2,949

Proposal Number 3

Authorizing the use of Forest Preserve Land for Specified Purposes

Yes 10,426

No 6,782

Related Posts