Columbia Memorial Health (1) Careers

Race honors trooper who died in the line of duty


By Melanie Lekocevic

For Capital Region Independent Media

Cyclists make their way up the hill on Route 385 in the first day of competition in the Trooper David Brinkerhoff Memorial Race Series. Melanie Lekocevic/Capital Region Independent Media

COXSACKIE — The first leg of the two-day Trooper David Brinkerhoff Memorial Race Series took place April 22, with a couple of hundred cyclists competing.

The second and final day of the race series will hit Coxsackie and Athens streets on Saturday, April 29.

The early spring race series was formerly known as the Johnny Cake Lane Spring Series, but was renamed in 2007 in honor of New York State Trooper David Brinkerhoff.

Brinkerhoff was a Coxsackie resident who died in the line of duty at age 29 from a gunshot wound he sustained in a shootout with a suspect April 25, 2007.

The race is hosted by the Capital Bicycle Racing Club and is held each April, with exceptions during the COVID-19 pandemic years.

The Brinkerhoff Memorial Race Series is considered one of the premier early spring racing series for cyclists in the Northeast and typically draws hundreds of athletes from around the Northeast and even as far as Canada.

Saturday’s race saw good weather, unlike the first installment of the 2022 race, which drew a muted number of competitors due to heavy rains all day long. A total of 208 cyclists competed in the first leg of this year’s competition.

The race series is divided up into several fields — A, B and C, and two fields for female cyclists — depending on experience and ability. The more experienced the field, the longer the course, with more laps.

Each loop covers 12 miles, starting at Coxsackie-Athens High School and traveling through Coxsackie and Athens

There were 54 competitors in Field A, the highest ability category with the longest route — 62 miles. Cyclists Chris Prendergast and Cormac Daly tied for first place with a race time of 2:21:02, with Enzo Edmonds and Erkko Etula taking second and third.

There were 57 competitors in Field B, with a 50-mile route, with Paul Luttik taking first place, Cole Krueger in second and Jayden Li in third.

Field C had 67 racers competing on the 38-mile course, with Jacob McCarthy coming in first place, Kurt Leadley in second and Wyle Solomon in third.

In the women’s fields, which go for 38 miles, nine cyclists competed in the first category, with Lilliana O’Donnell taking first place, Finley Aspholm coming in second and Akira Edmonds taking third. Eleven women competed in the second category, with Haylee Johnson taking first, Lucie Vagnerova in second and Emily Singleton coming in third.

Female cyclists competing in the race series, which added a dedicated women’s category in 2021. Melanie Lekocevic/Capital Region Independent Media

The women’s category was added in 2021 for the first time to encourage more female entrants, organizers said at the time.

The second leg of the two-day race series will be held Saturday, April 29, with online registration closing on April 28 at 6 p.m. There will be no day-of-race registration. To register for the second day of the race series, visit

Related Posts