Columbia Memorial Health (1) Careers

Hudson school board president eyes new challenge


HUDSON–The Hudson City School District approved both the 2017-18 budget and the donation of a small parcel of land to the City of Hudson for a sidewalk in the May 16 election. But as the results from the district’s three polling stations came in, district officials lamented that only 5.25% of eligible voters has turned out.

The budget for next school year passed with 346 Yes votes (69%) to 155 votes against the spending plan. The $45.9-million budget for the upcoming school year is 1% higher than the current year’s budget of $45.5 million.

The land donation proposition passed with 426 Yes votes (85.4%), with only 73 people voting No. The Board of Education had only one open seat and incumbent Board President Carrie Otty ran unopposed, winning reelection with 419 votes. Ms. Otty’s new term runs until 2020.

On election night, the board and school district officials met to observe the returns. At that meeting, when asked her ideas for the years ahead, Ms. Otty said, “I’m pleased with what we have with the Board. We all work well together. The Board is diverse. I would like to see it even more diverse, as is our student body.”

Board member Sage Carter said the Board needs more men. Of its seven members, only one is a man.

Ms. Otty also said she would like “more community participation” in school concerns.

Also at the election night meeting, district Superintendent Maria L. Suttmeier announced that 28 Hudson High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society. “I was impressed by their diversity,” she said. “Some of them were English as a New Language students. To have them now in the Honor Society is a great accomplishment.” Their post-graduation paths range from pre-med to accounting to criminal justice.

The next regular Board of Education meeting will take place Monday, June 5 at 7 p.m. at Hudson High School.

Hudson City School District board members are:

President Carrie Otty (2020)

Vice President Maria McLaughlin (2019)

Sage Carter (2020)

David Kisselburgh (2019)

Sumayyah Shabazz (2019)

Linda Hopkins (2021)

Willette Jones (2018)

Term expiration dates shown in parentheses. All terms end in June.

Related Posts