Columbia Memorial Health (1) Careers

Gibson wins by large margin


Barrett leads in tight race
GHENT–Representative Chris Gibson of Kinderhook easily won reelection to a third term in Congress Tuesday, beating challenger Sean Eldridge of Ulster County. Mr. Gibson, a Republican who also ran on the Conservative and Independence lines, will continue to represent the 19th District, which includes all of Columbia County and all or parts of 10 other counties.

In Columbia County Mr. Gibson received a total of 11,887 votes in the unofficial results released Tuesday compared to 5,781 votes for Mr. Eldridge. The New York Times reported that Mr. Gibson received 65% of the vote districtwide to 35% for Mr. Eldridge. The unofficial tally across the district was 124,428 for Mr. Gibson to 67,024 for Mr. Eldridge, according to The Times. Ed Cox, chairman of the state Republican Party congratulated Mr. Gibson in a statement Tuesday after the results were announced, saying, “I admire his intellect, his strong principles and his record of accomplishment. His passion for public service will continue to serve the people of the Hudson Valley, New York State and our nation.”

In a much closer contest incumbent Assemblymember Didi Barrett (D-106th) claimed a narrow victory over Republican challenger Mike Kelsey. The 106th Assembly District includes the City of Hudson and the Columbia County Towns of Ancram, Claverack, Clermont, Copake, Gallatin, Germantown, Ghent, Greenport, Livingston and Taghkanic plus nine towns in northern and central Dutchess County stretching south to the Town of Poughkeepsie.

In a brief statement issued late Tuesday night, Ms. Barrett said: “Despite a very tough climate for Democrats, I am very pleased that I will continue to represent the people of the 106th Assembly District. We look forward to adding to our victory with the counting of the absentee ballots. I am grateful to all our supporters and friends and look forward to getting back to work for our community.”

Ms. Barrett received a total of 4,483 votes in the unofficial Columbia County tally, trailing Mr. Kelsey, with 4,851. The Poughkeepsie Journal website,, reported that Ms. Barrett  had a 469 vote lead in Dutchess County, which would give her a lead of 101 votes before the absentee and military votes are counted.

In other races, state Senator Kathy Marchione, a Republican, won a comfortable victory for a second term in the 43rd District, which includes all of Columbia County plus parts of Rensselaer, Saratoga and Washington counties, beating Democrat Brian Howard in the unofficial county count by 10,652 votes to 6,680. Ms. Marchione also had the Conservative and Independence lines on the ballot; Mr. Howard had the Working Families line.
Assemblyman Pete Lopez (R) ran unopposed in the 102nd District, which includes the towns of Stuyvesant and Stockport.

Incumbent Republican Assemblyman Steve McLaughlin, running also on the Conservative, Independence and Stop Common Core lines, easily defeated his Democratic challenger, East Greenbush Town Board member Philip J. Malone, in the 107th District. Mr. Malone was also endorsed by the Working Families Party. That district includes the Columbia County towns of Austerlitz, Canaan, Chatham, Hillsdale, Kinderhook and New Lebanon as well as most of Rensselaer and southern Washington counties.

In one of two competitive local races, Republican Terry Sullivan defeated Democrat Lenny Barham for a vacant seat on the Copake Town Board. The unofficial result was 574 for Ms. Sullivan and 384 for Mr. Barham.

The other local contest was for an open seat on the Taghkanic Town Board, where Republican Carolyn Sammons was in the lead by 241 votes to 232 for Democrat Linda Swartz.

There were four local ballot propositions this election. Greenport voters rejected a proposal by 596 to 513 to abolish the position of highway superintendent in favor of an appointed commissioner.

Ancram voters turned down a proposal to guarantee funding for the Roeliff Jansen Community Library by 248 No votes to 163 Yes. But voters in both Kinderhook (2,008 Yes to 1,084 No) and Stuyvesant (448 Yes to 222 No) approved increased funding for the Kinderhook Memorial Library.

Official results for the county are available online at the Columbia County Board of Elections website

Unofficial vote counts do not include absentee and military ballots. Final counts will differ from results listed here. In these preliminary numbers, Copake results were not included in totals for balloting outside the Town of Copake.

“>” indicates apparent winner based on voting machine tallies reported election night
*Columbia County totals only

Governor/Lt. Gov.*

>Andrew M. Cuomo  D, WF, I, WE   7,011
Kathy C. Hochul

Rob Astorino  R, C, SC   8,798
Chris Moss

Howie Hawkins  GRE   1,978
Brian P. Jones

Steven Cohn  SAP   16
Bobby K. Kalotee

Michael McDermott  L   103
Chris Edes


>Thomas P. DiNapoli  D, WF, I, WE   9,936

Robert Antonacci  R, C, SC   7,032

Theresa M. Portelli  GRE   677

John Clifton  L   118

Attorney General*

>Eric T. Schneiderman  D, WF, I, WE  8,232

John Cahill  R, C, SC   8,787

Ramon Jimenez  GRE   582

Carl E. Person  L    112

Supreme Court Justice(D3)*

Justin O. Corcoran  D, I   7,191

Lisa M. Fisher  R, C   9,771
Representative in Congress (CD19)*

Sean S. Eldridge  D, WF  6,042

>Christopher P. Gibson  R, C, I   12,184

State Senator(SD43)*

Brian F. Howard  D, WF   6,969

>Kathleen A. Marchione  R, C, I   10,920

Member of Assembly (102)*

>Peter D Lopez  R, C, I   1,146

Member of Assembly (106)*

Didi Barrett  D, WF, I   4,483

Michael N. Kelsey  R, C   4,851

Member of Assembly (107)*

Philip J. Malone  D, WF   2,823

>Steven F McLaughlin  R, C, I, SC   4,144

County Clerk

>Holly C. Tanner  R, C, I   14,198

County Coroner

>Michael Blasl  R, C, I   13,839

Claverack Town Council

>William Gerlach  R  1,288

Claverack Town Justice

>Michael H. Brandon  R   1,326

Copake Town Council

Lenny Barham  D   384

>Terry Sullivan  R, C, I   574

Taghkanic Town Council

Linda Swartz  D   232

Carolyn Sammons  R, C   241

Taghkanic Town Justice

>Robert Prochera  R   298

Proposition No. 1 (Redistricting Commission)

Yes  7,750

No   8,020

Proposition No. 2 (digital bills for state lawmakers)

>Yes   12,455

No   3,652

Proposition No. 3 ($2 billion school technology bond)

>Yes   8,586

No   7,845

Proposition No. 4, Ancram (library funding)

Yes  163

>No   248

Proposition No. 4 Greenport (appoint highway supt.)

Yes  513

>No   596

Proposition No. 4 Kinderhook (library funding)

>Yes  2,008

No   1,084

Proposition No. 4 Stuyvesant (library funding)

>Yes   448

No   222

Related Posts